Expectations

Entering this semester has me a bit on edge, to say the least. I’ve not had a terrible amount of courses, or experience for that matter, in journalism. I decided on a major in true eleventh hour fashion, in the second semester of my senior year of high school. I was never on the newspaper staff, nor did I work on the yearbook staff. I knew I loved talking about sports, and I knew journalism was the surest route to continue being able to do that for a living. And so I ended up at the University of Missouri. I took no courses in journalism until last semester, and one of those was an introductory, one credit-hour course; the other, an introduction to ethics in the practice of journalism. In the truest sense, I am a blank sheet. It isn’t that I don’t have expectations, I simply don’t know what to expect.

I have the usual goals any individual would have. I want to do well in the course, hopefully get an A, gain some knowledge of my craft. But outside of that, it’s a bit of a maze for me, as far as what I hope to gain. Learning to put together a piece containing photographs, videos, text, and other aspects of multimedia would naturally come at the top of the list of things I’d like to learn, but that comes expected with the course title. My priority list is centralized on learning as much as I can about my chosen profession. Photo editing, video editing, voice overs; anything I can learn, I want to learn.

For example, learning to do a piece like this, which contains not only a written story on the death of King Abdullah of Saudi Arabia and the succession of the throne by his half-brother Salman, but also links to stories about the new king’s appointments, as well as some of his policies. The story also contains photographs of the half-brothers, and a short video piece reporting the story at the top of the page. In short, this type of story is what I am looking to be able to create when I finish with this class.

And I think that makes up my expectations that I have for myself in this class. Coming into this class with less than no background in the intricate aspects of journalism, I hope I can walk out with far more knowledge of the tools and processes that journalists use than what I came in with.

Summing up my expectations as concisely as I can, I want to be able to change the title of this blog from “How Does One ‘Multimedia'” to “This is How You ‘Multimedia'”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

